Built in 1855, the McDougall Mill Museum itself is our most prized artifact. Constructed by fur trader and Hudson’s Bay Company agent, John Lorne McDougall. This beautiful stone building was originally used as a grist mill, it was then renovated and reopened as the McDougall Mill Museum in 1969.
Situated in picturesque O’Brien Park, the mill cradles the second chute of the Bonnechere River and overlooks the town’s historic Swinging Bridge.
Though the majority of the McDougall Mill Museum’s artifacts celebrate local history, we also exhibit items donated by local Indigenous communities and international locales.